The history of the immigrant bario

Nieuw Nederland (New Netherlands) belongs to the Berg Altena zone, which also includes the districts of Batavierwijk, Cocowijk, Parerawijk, Paradijs bij Hel, La Fama district, Chère Asile, Monte Verde, Coronet and Zeewijk.
Altena, formerly known as Alt(h)ona, was assigned in 1643 by the West India Company to nine farmers who were unfamiliar with the tropics and who did not have enough water and workers. The agricultural project failed, after which the WIC took over the site again and employed the men.
It is probably François (de) Bruyn who later acquired the mountain and the area at its foot and gave it the name Altena, the name of a castle near Almskerk.
At the foot of Berg Altena - the current Oranjestraat - intensive agriculture was practiced and there was also a house with goat and sheep corals here. And in 1673, the pub Altena of the brothers Jan and Nathaniel Ellis also flourished here, later owners of important plantations such as Santa Cruz, Savonet and Knip and the ancestors of the Ellis families on Curaçao.

Nieuw Nederland, like the neighboring districts of the city such as Fleur de Marie and Sint Jago, was created as a result of a housing shortage in the city and employment in the port and at the refinery. It was originally a working-class area, with immigrants mainly from English-speaking islands such as St Kitts, Jamaica, Antigua, Trinidad, Anguilla, Sint Maarten and Statia, but also Portuguese, Venezuelans, Bonaireans, Surinamese and some Curaçaoans.
The English residents introduced the colorful wooden houses that still determine the typical Caribbean atmosphere of the windward winds in the district.
Monique Rosalina writes in her book Wooden Houses of Curaçao that the largest concentration of wooden houses on Curaçao can be found in the Nieuw Nederland, Coronet and Monte Verde districts, dating back to the end of the 19th century.
New Netherland also had the typical chattel houses from Barbados, which could be folded without nails and were easy to move. But there were also wooden houses on stilts, similar to Surinamese houses on neuten (pillars) under which the children from the neighborhood had their playground. Also worth mentioning are the 'kas di bleki', made of flattened kerosene cans, three of which are still standing in the district.
The Bonairean, traditionally 'man of the sea' settled in the Penstraat (Zeewijk), such as, for example, Simon Felida, after whom Boka Simon was named and Ido van Dinter who had built a large fisherman's hut for all fishermen at 'Hala Canoa'.
The men worked at the Isla or did the loading and unloading of ships in the harbor and the women often worked in the chic town houses of Punda and Pietermaai and/or owned a 'bentana' . In addition to fishing, agriculture and livestock were also practiced until 1925, and craftsmen such as carpenters, masons, iron and goldsmiths lived there, and cottage industry was practiced.
Exerpts written by Mylène Luisa from N.A.A.M

About Rensley Victoria

Rensley is born and raised in New Nederland and came with this initiative to put his neighborhood on the map. He want to show the rich history, the people including the visiting tourists, the architecture and the coast of this unique place in the world through tours.